1. Contenuto della pagina
  2. Menu principale di navigazione
  3. Menu di sezione


  1. IT
Kyle Solá
Kyle Solá
 Laura Görs
Laura Görs
Riedel Award 2017
Riedel Award 2017
Contenuto della pagina

Riedel Award 2017


13 september 2017, 5.30 pm - Palazzo Franchetti
Istituto Veneto di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti

The 2017 Riedel Award  goes to Kyle Solá for his project Fracture
Fracture emphasizes the unique properties of crystal and is inspired by Austro-Bohemian tradition, brought up-to-date, with contemporary design elements. As balanced and well-proportioned sculptures, the pieces are both attractive and highly practical and are formed to be compatible with commercial production methods.
The judges unanimously decided to select one winner this year (rather than three finalists) as the very high quality of the designs submitted showed a certain homogeneity, making difficult to draw individual classification. 
Nevertheless, the committee were keen to award a special mention to  Sensorium by Laura Görs, who presented a fun and original design, with an impressive graphic visualisation. The bubble detail, which is reminiscent of  a grape, embellishes the glass in a very tactile way. A detail that could be defined almost as ‘playful’: everyone wants to use it.

The prize giving ceremony for the Glass in Venice Prize and for the Riedel Award have taken place at the Istituto Veneto in the presence of:
Gherardo Ortalli, president of the Istituto Veneto di Scienze Lettere ed Arti
Gabriella Belli, director of the Fondazione Musei Civici di Venezia
Georg J. Riedel, president of Riedel Crystal
Rosa Barovier, glass historian
and the prize winning artists.

The works of award-winning artists will be exhibited in the atrium of the Palazzo Loredan, Istituto Veneto,
from September 14 to October 13
Monday to Friday from 10.00 to 17.00.
Admission is free.

The members of the jury were Rosa Barovier (glass historian), Giovanna Palandri (Chancellor of the Istituto Veneto), Chiara Squarcina (Director of the Museo del Vetro, Murano), Stefanie Kubanek (German designer at KubanekDesign+) and Leif Huff (Executive Design Director IDEO Europe), chaired by Georg J. Riedel (10th generation of Riedel Crystal).